Evolution in 3 Minutes

So I didn’t have a post ready for today. I’m working on what I hope will be a good post, but it’s taking a lot longer than expected. Plus, as I think I mentioned before, my new job conflicts with my prime post-writing time. Anyway, I hope it will be worth it to take my time with the post I’m writing.

But I won’t leave you with nothing! Here’s a mostly decent summary of evolutionary theory. At least, it’s good enough for a three minute YouTube video. Enjoy!

About TheStevenator

My name is Steven Zuber. I am a 23 year old college student, studying cognitive science and whatever else catches my fancy at CSU. In my free time, I study subject that either aren't tought well in school, like math, or aren't covered at all in real classes, like interesting physics and psychology, play video games, and whatever else it is that people do. I'm dating an amazing woman who is currently getting her Master's degree at Columbia University.
This entry was posted in Philosophy, Science and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Evolution in 3 Minutes

  1. BrainRants says:

    An elegant and simple explanation. Works great for cave men like me.

  2. One of the best demonstrations of the impossibility of evolution happening that I have ever seen!

    • Right, because scientists don’t know what they’re talking about. That’s why the computer you’re using doesn’t work without spells and prayers.

      It is unfortunate, but you talk with the air of someone who doesn’t want to know more. I can’t really imagine what it is like, to shut your mind that way. Should you ever want to really learn, I can direct you to several helpful resources.

  3. Annette says:

    So we are the greatest mistake….a random result of mistakes…the culmination of billions of errors…each generation worse than the last….mmmmmmmmmm :)

    • *Watches video again*

      Oh, right. I missed the part where it said that the first time I watched it. I would correct your misunderstanding, but you speak with the air of one who doesn’t want to know. It sounds exactly as stupid as saying, “So things stick to the earth, but scientists claim that it’s moving at great speed. That’s obviously not true otherwise we’d all fly off into space.” If the spirit of your comment was proper inquiry, I’d be more than happy to explain where your chain of reasoning fails to coincide with reality. However, I get the feeling that you aren’t trying to learn, so I wont waste my time.

  4. Annette says:

    Random mutations are almost always “mistakes”. My question is, How can millions and billions of mistakes produce anything almost perfect? Just a question….I am still a student and still learning….

    • Ah, then I sincerely apologize for my dismissiveness earlier. Although, your tone really didn’t convey that you were willing to learn about the topic.

      You hit on the answer to your quandary in the word choice of your question: “almost always mistakes.”

      Imagine that we’re looking at a population of eagles. Most mutations that occur during development are either totally benign (like a sequence of amino acids changing a letter but still codes for the same protein) or harmful (like a congenital disease or debilitation). However, once in a while, you get mutations that are slightly helpful. Sometimes a mutation will cause the wing to form in a way that is slightly more aerodynamic or cause the muscles that control the lens of the eye to be more acute and allow the eagle to see better. If the mutation confers an advantage, then the organism with it is more likely to have more offspring and confer the advantage. Check out Tuesday’s post for a youtube video that sums of natural selection really well. :)

  5. Pingback: E-Bike Reifenprofil

Leave a Reply

