Check out Hawking at TED

Not much to say other than Hawking is a bad ass. If you haven’t read any of his books, I highly recommend picking one up. My favorite (I’ve only read a few) is A Briefer History of Time. If you haven’t heard of him, check this out. If you don’t want to check that out, read the first paragraph on wikipedia.

Stephen William Hawking, CHCBEFRSFRSA (born 8 January 1942) is an English theoretical physicist and cosmologist, whose scientific books and public appearances have made him an academic celebrity. He is an Honorary Fellow of the Royal Society of Arts, a lifetime member of the Pontifical Academy of Sciences, and in 2009 was awarded the Presidential Medal of Freedom, the highest civilian award in the United States.

He’s had ALS for decades, even though average life expectancy only about 5 years after diagnosis. It hasn’t slowed him down at all though. Check out this link for his thoughts on it. Hawking has a great sense of humor and is one of the few science authors that I am aware of who can make you laugh at the same time as making you think about the universe. He’s one of my favorite people ever. If nothing else, at least check out the ten minute video above. If I get some positive feed back, I’ll do a couple more posts about him.

About TheStevenator

My name is Steven Zuber. I am a 23 year old college student, studying cognitive science and whatever else catches my fancy at CSU. In my free time, I study subject that either aren't tought well in school, like math, or aren't covered at all in real classes, like interesting physics and psychology, play video games, and whatever else it is that people do. I'm dating an amazing woman who is currently getting her Master's degree at Columbia University.
This entry was posted in Books, Inspirational, Philosophy, Science, TV or Film and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Check out Hawking at TED

  1. Pingback: A Response to Stephen Hawking's Alien Statement | Ask "Video News Net"

Leave a Reply

